Visits / Heritage
The castle of Tallard : classified as “Monument Historique” !
Since the construction of the first towers on the cliff of the village, 800 years ago, this castle, which is classified a “Monument Historique” 14th – 16th century, overlooks the river Durance and the old town of Tallard.
The castle was bought by the town council in 1957 from the descendants of the renowned family Clermont-Tonnerre. For 50 years it has been undergoing a major restoration programme.
The entrance opens onto a vast court, revealing the flamboyant Gothic-style chapel, the guardroom and the lord’s residence. Marble, stained-glass windows, coats of arms, statues, French-style beamed ceilings, chimneys… contribute to the amazing architecture of this building.
Guided tours, exhibitions, night-time illuminations and medieval shows take place in this wonderful environment and bring this ancient stronghold to life.
From 1st till 18 September
Guided tours every day from Monday till Sunday at 2:30 pm without reservation
Autumn and Winter half-term holidays
Guided tours ,“Village and Castle” 2 hours
or “Castle” 1 hour, on Tuesdays and Wednesdays on reservation
Guided tours, “Village and Castle” 2 hours or “Castle” 1 hour, on afternoons from Monday to Friday on reservation, minimum 5 people.
All year round for groups: minimum 10 people
It is possible to visit the “Village and Castle”
or only the “Castle” on reservation
Feel free to call the town council
even if you are not enough visitors as it is possible to make groups
Activity “treasure hunt” for groups of children.
Tour – Cost:
Free for children under 10. Individual tour (entrance): 3 €
Guided tour: 4.50 €
from 10 to 18 + students under 25
individual or guided tour: 2,50 €
The medieval village of Tallard
DISCOVER THE HISTORIC CENTRE OF TALLARD
Walk through the ancient streets steeped in history. History circuit in the village : just follow the guidebook and explanatory signs in the key locations of the village.
Sculptures, inscriptions, doors, wash houses, fountains, church and other and ancient buildings still reflect the Medieval and Renaissance periods in the village. Brochure available at the visitor information centre of Tallard.
Parc La Garenne at the castle of Tallard
RELAXING IN THE PARK
The park of the castle is classified as one of the most picturesque sites in the département and has been under the protection of the ONF since the 1957.
At that time the park served as an outbuilding for the castle and was used as a pantry.
It now makes a nice playground for children and a pleasant place to walk with its hundred-year-old trees. A short hike, marked circuit.
The Church of Saint Grégoire in Tallard
Located in the heart of the historical centre, this 17th-century church is classified as a historic monument and is dedicated to St Grégoire. He was a bishop from Armenia who evangelised Tallard and died in 404 AD.
For about 50 years an Armenian pilgrimage has taken place every year in September.
Bust of Saint Grégoire
6 paintings of different stages in his life
Pulpit from the 18th century and organ
The Basilica of Notre Dame du Laus
Notre dame du Laus – 05130 Saint-Etienne Le laus
Tel: 0033(0)4 92 50 30 73 – firstname.lastname@example.org
The Marian spiritual Mecca the origin of which goes back to the XVIIéme century. Unique fact in the history a shepherdess received appearances there in a prolonged way from 1664 till 1718; visions recognized by the Roman Catholic Church in 2008. Events are proposed on the occasion of the holy year of the mercy wanted by pope François. Open all year long; pilgrimages, concerts, spiritual courses, welcome groups …
Mass every day at 11:15 am – Sunday: masses at 7 am and 10:30 am
Free visit on Sundays after the mass of 10:30 am and on request every day
The Church of Saint-Pierre in Curbans
At the bottom of the village, surrounded with a cemetery, in the locality ” Claux “, is the church “Saint-Pierre” of XI ° reshaped over the centuries and classified as “Historic Monument”. It was the old parochial church.
Its bay was geminated on the facade the South, its nave in four spans bent on cradle, its apse low and bent in bottom of oven and its rise certify its medieval origin with a primitive Romanic style, probably of XII ° century (DRAC PACA source) reshaped over the centuries.
Walls are built in regular device on the bedhead, in rubble stones and pebbles somewhere else.
It is enlightened only by three small stained-glass windows on the east facade.
The Chapel of Saint-Laurent in Sigoyer
Dating the XIth century, this chapel of Romanic-Provençal style is all which stays of a prioryestablished by the Abbey St Michel of the Transverse valley (Piedmont).
Of the XVth in the XVIIIth century, the Priory was kept by the Order of Malta.
Wooden altar paints, statues, paintings, motive in the ceiling of the chorus(choir) are to be seen inside. Since 1992, masses for St Laurent (10/8) and the All Saints’ Day.
If you wish to go in the ruins of the old village situated to Vière, abandoned by 1850 and rehabilitated in 2006/2007, borrow the old road leaving of the place of the city hall (now reserved for the pedestrians): at the end of 1km of marked out, secure route, you will arrive at the old village.
Twenty kilometres north of Tallard … The Serre-Ponçon lake … Seaside in the mountains between the Hautes-Alpes and the Alpes de Haute-Provence.
This artificial lake which spreads over 3000 hectares was created in 1961 by the construction of the biggest dam in Europe.
The Durance and Ubaye rivers, on which all white water sports are possible, flow into the lake. While the Ubaye ends in the lake, the Durance continues its journey to the Mediterranean.
This lake was built to reduce the risk of flooding when rivers are in spate, to produce electricity and to irrigate farmland in the whole of the Durance valley thanks to the canal of the Durance which starts at the dam. This lake also offers great settings to swim, fish, relax, try nautical sports…
It is a great place to relax and offers wonderful scenery… Going on a trip round the lake is also fabulous: from the belvedere of Rousset to Le Sauze, Savines, Embrun, Chorges … Panoramic views are simply breathtaking!
EDF – Power station of Serre-Ponçon
Tel : 0033(0)4 92 54 58 11
Desire of to know more about it ?
Visit the House of the water and the energies!
A free and unique site of visit at the foot of one of the biggest dams of Europe! In the heart of a big industrial site EDF, for any knowledge of the hydropower and the renewable energies. 4 experiences of visits are proposed:
· The space of exhibition of 200 m ² where interactive modules, touch-sensitive screens and videos tell the epic of the energies. Relive the construction of the dam and the canal of Durance. Educational visit adapted to all the public.
· The visit of the machinery room of the subterranean power plant to discover the wings of the functioning of this electric cathedral! Compulsory preliminary reservation.
· An outside route to observe the local biodiversity and the surrounding landscapes
From July 1st till August 31st, free and free access from Monday to Friday (except(off) holidays), from 9 am till 12 am and from 1:30 pm till 4:30 pm.
From October 1st till June 30th, opening on reservation of group only.
To visit the power plant of Serre-Ponçon
Visit on preliminary compulsory inscription and subject to availability. Visit submitted to strict conditions of access without possible dispensation :
· Children from 8 years
· ID card or passport confirms for the major people (not accepted : driving licence, title or resident’s permit)
· High shoes without heel for all; typify basket or hike shoes
( Think of taking a vest)
· Visit of the power plant not adapted to the people with reduced mobility
– Forbidden animals